You know what's even more interesting is the part right AFTER the green, highlighted area. Previously, it says a dog must mouth the other dog. It then says that when the dogs touch, you must release your dog. So many people think that when you release your dog, the scratch has been completed.

Take into account that you have to have a really good referee for this aspect. Lets say that you specify dogs must take holds. Dogs come together at say the 5 second mark, but the scratching dog hasn't taken hold. The referee MUST continue counting until the scratching dog takes hold. It doesn't matter if the dog being held takes hold or not as the onus is on the scratching dog to take hold to complete his scratch.

People really need to familiarize themselves with the rules. The out of hold count rule is one that confuses people also as most don't know it like they should.